The Cowles Center and the McKnight Fellowships for Dancers Present SOLO - September 16 to September 17

An evening of six world premieres.

Each year three exceptional Minnesota dance artists receive the coveted honor of a McKnight Dancer Fellowship. To celebrate their artistry, we commission a solo dance from a choreographer of their choice. The 2020 and 2021 dance fellows have selected an outstanding group of local, national, and international dance artists who will bring their choreographic imaginations into new works expressly tailored for each fellow. The result is an evening of world premieres ranging from innovative hip hop to rhythmic Chicago footwork to Brazilian contemporary choreographic explorations and more.

SOLO Dancers and Commissioned Choreographers:
Melissa Clark (2020 Dancer Fellow) and Alhassane Bangoura (Guinea/MN), John ‘Boodilla’ King (IL), René Thompson (Cuba/MN)
Alexandra Eady (2021 Dancer Fellow) and Maria Bauman (NY)
Non Edwards (2020 Dancer Fellow) and Anna Shogren (MN)
Hassan Ingraham (2021 Dancer Fellow) and Norbert De La Cruz III (NY)
Marciano Silva dos Santos (2020 Dancer Fellow) and Gil Mendes Coelho (Brazil)
David Stalter Jr. (2021 Dancer Fellow) and Sheopatra (CA)

Friday and Saturday, September 16-17
In-person and live streamed.
Live stream tickets are pay-as-able!

Be sure to check-out our additional SOLO events this weekend – free and no RSVP required!

Friday, September 16:

  • Performance preview with SOLO choreographers in the Target Education Studio, 2nd floor
  • Post-performance artist reception in the U.S. Bank Atrium and Lobby

Saturday, September 17:

  • Meet the Artists Post-Show Discussion Series immediately following the performance

Location Info

The Cowles Center for Dance & the Performing Arts
The Goodale Theater
528 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55403


Contact Info

The Cowles Center Staff

Box Office Info

Box Office Contact: The Cowles Center Staff
Phone: 612-206-3600
Price: $5-25
Date: September 16, 2022  Time: 7:30 pm
Date: September 17, 2022  Time: 7:30 pm